Exchange #1.2 – October 2012 Adam → Jordan

Exchange # 1.2 – October 2012

Adam → Jordan

P1000202

Materials: Foam insulation, folding ruler, cord, burlap, lead, wood, latex tubing.

P1000206

P1000264

P1000267

P1000270

materials: foam insulation, cord, antique folding ruler, burlap, copper rivets, lead, wood.
materials: foam insulation, cord, antique folding ruler, burlap, copper rivets, lead, wood.

  • Soon after receiving the first iteration from Jordan, I went north to Stonington for a week-long residency at the Steven Pace House. I brought the project, along with a carload of materials up with me to work on it in Pace’s great old barn studio. At the time, I was making a series of makeshift watercraft out of mixed materials. So, having boats on the mind, and thinking of how the lead could play into that, I turned the object Jordan started into a small boat, with more ballast than it could handle. I’ve been interested in how documentation can accompany or supplement the work I make, so I took this down to the rocks and let it settle to the bottom and photographed and filmed it. Then I packed it up, along with a little residual seaweed and sand, and shipped it, with a DVD, back to Jordan.
Leave a Reply

